FAQs


Source

Where are HARi&CO’s products manufactured?

Our products are manufactured by our industrial partner in the “Drôme Provençale,” found in the heart of Provence. Furthermore, no raw materials of animal origin come into contact with our products in the manufacturing process.

Where do the beans used in HARi&CO’s products come from?

Our beans are grown in France. We have established partnerships with three farming cooperatives: in the Auvergne Rhône-Alpes region, in the Greater Southwest, and in the Greater West of France. We have settled on a contracting scheme featuring agricultural partnerships in order to secure the volume and availability of raw materials and to promote the development of the French legume and organic food sectors.

Where do the other ingredients used in HARi&CO’s ingredients come from?

The beans (which make up 50% of the ingredients found in our burgers and no-meat balls) are grown exclusively in France. We obtain our vegetables and seasonings from France and from neighbouring European countries.

Composition

Are all the ingredients used in HARi&CO’s products organic?

All the ingredients used in our recipes are organic, with the exception of salt and water, which can never be considered organic to begin with!

Are HARi&CO’s products gluten-free?

Our products are not gluten-free. We use cornmeal, wheat semolina, as well as wheat flakes and wheat flour to grant our products a nice texture. Combined with beans, the grains added to our recipes also provide you with all the essential amino acids (which make up proteins) your body needs. This combination leads to a greater degree of protein absorption than would be possible if they were consumed separately. (Source: INRA, A return to favour of plant proteins).

Do HARi&CO’s products contain soy and why?

The majority of plant-based meat alternatives on the market today are soy-based, which is a rather bland and uninspiring legume for the European consumer. We want to offer a product featuring beans from our own French culinary heritage, such as the green lentil, the flageolet bean, and the chickpea.

Does HARi&CO produce mock-meat products?

Above all, we are set on offering you the possibility to know what you eat. This implies seeing the ingredients in the products that you consume and being able to visibly distinguish the beans and vegetables used. With that being said, HARi&CO does not produce mock-meat products that imitate the texture, the appearance, or the taste of meat. These meat imitation products require the addition of textured protein substances or additives such as meat flavourings or texturising agents such as guar and xanthane gum. Does that sound appetizing to you?! It sure doesn’t tempt us!

How do I preserve the products once I have purchased them?

HARi&CO burgers and no-meat balls are frozen goods and they must be stored in your freezer at temperatures below -18°C. Make sure they do not defrost during transportation, and if this does happen, they must be consumed at once, not refrozen.

Why are your products frozen?

Our products are additive and conservative-free. We freeze them to ensure their conservation without having to resort to high-temperature heat treatments that would alter their appearance and flavour.

What is your product composition?

Every one of our recipes features a bean (lentil, chickpea, flageolet bean, etc.) combined with grains (semolina, corn, wheat). We add some vegetables (carrots, leeks, onions, etc.) and spices (cumin, Provencal herbs, etc.). In short, nothing but good stuff! Find out more here!

Nutrition & cooking

Could you tell me more about the Nutriscore labeling on HARi&CO’s products?

Nutriscore is a logo that provides a information about the nutritional quality of a product in simplified form. It is based on a grading scale ranging from letters A (highest score) to E (lowest score) according to the nutritional profile of the product. The score is calculated per 100 grams of the nutrient content of healthy food (fibres, proteins, fruit, and vegetables) and the nutrient content of unhealthy food (calories, saturated fats, sugar, salt). The total score attributed to a product is then associated with a letter. All HARi&CO’s products have obtained the letter A.

How should I cook your products?

Our products are easy to prepare! You can toss them in a pan (8 min) pop them in the oven (10 min) or even plunge them in a deep fryer (2-3 min). All you have to do is turn them over midway through cooking and you’ll be good to go! Our burger and no-meat ball products make up the basis of a meal by replacing meat, fish, eggs, etc. You can opt for several side dishes and play around with the recipes. For instance, our burgers are taste great stuffed between two hamburger buns and our no-meat balls are the utlimate garnish to your salads. Visit our blog for more recipe ideas!

What side dish should I serve with the HARi&CO’s products?

HARi&CO’s products are the base of a meal, meaning that they replace meat, fish, or eggs in any given meal. Therefore, they can be served with the same side dishes. You could whip up a vegetable hash or ratatouille on the side, or even add some carbs in the form of rice or pasta. For more recipe ideas, be sure to check out our Instagram account for all of our recipe  tips!

How much protein do your products contain?

In our products, the protein content ranges from 7.6 g (chickpea recipe) to 9.5 grams (green lentil recipe), per 100 g. Figures set out in more detail below:

> Green lentils: 9.5 g per 100 g.

> Chickpeas: 7.6 g per 100 g.

> Flageolet beans: 8.4 g per 100 g.

> Red beans: 8.4 g per 100 g.

How many calories do your products contain?

The calorie content of our products sits at an average of 165 kcal per 122 g. Figures set out in more detail below:

> Green lentils: 164.9 kcal per 100 g.

> Chickpeas: 165.6 kcal per 100 g.

> Flageolet beans: 166.9 kcal per 100 g.

> Red beans: 158.5 kcal per 100 g.

Distribution

Are you also a restaurant or mass catering supplier?

Our products are distributed in the out-of-home catering sector, meaning in school and company canteens. We also supply food chains such as Ninkasi, Burger and wells, and the Zinc à burger, all located in Lyon. Our products are also served at chez Mamie burger in Paris!

Beans

How can I better digest beans?

Three key rules:

1. Let them soak in cold water overnight, drain the water they were soaked in, and rinse the beans several times.

2. Cook the beans well. While they are cooking, squeeze in some lemon juice for some aciditiy.

3. Finally, remember to chew veeeeeeeery carefully and to add spices (cumin, fennel, ginger…), which will aid in digestion and reduce chances of bloating :).

Which beans are the most protein-rich?

Apart from soy, the most protein-rich beans in descending order are (/100 g): lentils (25.8 g), split peas (24.55 g), red beans (22.5 g), chickpeas (20.5 g), and flageolet beans (19.1 g).

Which beans are the most fibre-rich?

Apart from soy, the most fibre-rich beans in descending order are (/100 g): split peas (25.5 g), flageolet beans (23.4 g), lentils (17.1 g), red beans (15.2 g), and chickpeas (13.3 g).

Why eat beans?

Beans have many health benefits and are a positive addition to any diet:

> They are naturally high in plant-based proteins. Together with grains, they can make up a proteinic contribution equivalent to meat.

> They are high in fibre. A fibre-rich diet favours digestion and allows the body to better regulate its blood glucose levels.

> They are rich in vitamins and minerals. beans are positively teeming with iron, magnesium, potassium, and vitamin B, all of which are essential for balance within the body. 

> They have a low glycemic index, which caters to a slower digestion process and greatly contributes to producing a feeling of satiety.

What are some sources of plant protein?

There are three sources of plant protein:

> beans: rich in iron and fibre, they are naturally nutrient-rich. In this food category we come across: peas, beans, lentils, etc.

> Grains (quinoa, corn, bulgur, rice, etc.) are also a good alternative to meat.  Rich in carbohydrates and proteins, they contain many minerals. It is important to know that combining grains + beans provides all the amino acids your body needs.

> Oilseeds: almonds, nuts, sesame seeds, etc.

How is your approach linked to sustainable development?

Our approach tackles a twofold challenge regarding sustainable deveopment:

> On the one hand, developing a quality food supply source: beans have well-know nutritional benefits. They are rich in fibre and contain wulity plant-based proteins. Their combination with cereals (as we do in our recipes!) leads to an excellent absorption of plant proteins. They are a nutritional ally that establish a good dietary balance.

> On the other hadn, developing sustainable farming practices by cultivating and transforming the way beans are perceived in France. Cultivating beans is a real agricultural and environmental boon! They are very water-efficient and do not require nitrogen-based fertilisers. They actually absorb the nitrogen present in the air and reintegrate it into the soil. As a result, by adding beans to a field of crops, we can reduce the overall consumption of nitrogen worldwide, and therefore reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

Plant protein

How do I repace meat?

THere are several existing alternatives to animal proteins, you just have to be aware of them. (Non exhaustive list).

> beans are a primary source of plant protein: naturally rich in iron, fibre, and other nutrients.

In this food category we come across: peas, beans, lentils, etc.

> Grains (quinoa, corn, bulgur, rice, etc.) are also a good alternative to meat. Rich in carbohydrates and proteins, they contain many minerals. It is important to know that the combination of grains + beans supplies your body with all the amino acids necessary for its proper functioning.

> Oilseeds: almonds, nuts, sesame seeds, etc.

For what follows, the best thing to do is to give your culinary creativity free rein! For more recipe ideas, follow us on Instagram :).

Can I eat your products as a daily meat replacement?

Our products are very good for your health but should be consumed as part of a balanced diet. We do not recommend you eat them everyday, simply because it is important to have a varied diet that includes different protein sources.

Pourquoi réduire sa consommation de viande ?

Vegging up your meals can benefit both the environment and your health!

> Meat production causes pollution: intensive livestock rearing is a huge source of greenhouse gases, deforestation, tremendous water waste, and soil pollution. To have sufficient yield, antibiotic use in animals is highly common.

> An over-consumption of meat can also negatively impact your health: eating too much animal protein is unhealthy for your body.

Excess protein, fat, and fatty acids promote bad cholesterol and certain cardiovascular diseases.

Plant proteins exist (beans, grains, oilseeds, etc.) and supply you with the necessary protein intake to avoid any deficiencies.

> Meat is expensive: poultry, beef, pork, lamb… consuming meat on a daily basis calls for a pretty hefty budget.

To sum up: eating too much meat negatively impacts the planet, animals, and your own health: try to reduce your meat consupmtion a bit and to to focus on high-quality nutrition :).

What is flexitarianism?

Flexitarianism is a dietary regime similar to vegetarianism. Also called a “flexible vegetarian,” a flexitarian reduces meat consumption without becoming exclusively vegetarian. Organic meat is favoured. Learn more in this highly informative article!

FAQs


Origine

Où sont fabriqués les produits HARi&CO ?

Nos produits sont fabriqués chez notre partenaire industriel dans la Drôme Provençale. Le site de production applique une démarche HACCP. Par ailleurs, aucune matière première d’origine animale n’entre dans la conception des produits.

D’où proviennent les légumineuses qui composent les produits HARi&CO ?

Nos légumineuses sont cultivées en France. Nous avons des partenariats avec trois coopératives agricoles : en Auvergne Rhône-Alpes, Grand Sud Ouest, et Grand Ouest de la France. Nous avons choisi un modèle de contractualisation de partenariats agricoles afin d’assurer les volumes et la disponibilité des matières premières et favoriser le développement de la filière légumineuse française et bio.

D’où proviennent les autres ingrédients qui composent les produits HARi&CO ?

Les légumineuses (qui comptent pour 50% des ingrédients de nos galettes et boulettes) sont exclusivement sourcées en France. Nous sourçons les légumes et des assaisonnements en France et pays européens limitrophes.

Composition

Les ingrédients des produits HARi&CO sont-ils tous bio ?

L’ensemble des ingrédients de nos recettes sont d’origine biologique. Sauf le sel et l’eau, qui ne sont jamais considérés comme bio !

Les produits HARi&CO sont-ils vegan ?

Oui, nos produits sont vegan. Ils ne contiennent aucun ingrédient d’origine animale, ni lait, ni œuf, ni miel. Ils ont reçu la certification « LABEL V », accordée par l’Association Végétarienne de France.

Les produits HARi&CO sont-ils sans gluten ?

Nos produits contiennent bien du gluten. Pour obtenir une texture agréable, nous utilisons de la semoule de maïs, de la semoule de blé, ainsi que des floncons de blé et de la farine de blé. En association avec les légumineuses, les céréales ajoutées dans nos recettes permettent également de fournir tous les acides aminés essentiels (ce qui constitue les protéines) nécessaires à l’organisme. Cette association permet d’obtenir un taux d’assimilation de protéines plus important que si elles étaient consommées séparément. (Source : INRA, Vers un retour en grâce des protéines végétales).

Y a-t-il du soja dans les produits HARi&CO et pourquoi ?

La plupart des alternatives proposées autour de la protéine végétale sur le marché sont principalement à base de soja, qui est une légumineuse peu évocatrice culinairement et gustativement parlant pour le consommateur européen. Nous souhaitions proposer une offre tournée autour de légumineuses qui font partie du patrimoine culinaire français, telles que la lentille verte, le haricot flageolet ou encore le pois chiche.

Les produits HARi&CO sont-ils des imitations de la viande ?

Avant tout, nous voulons vous offrir la possibilité de comprendre ce que vous mangez et cela passe par le fait que les ingrédients tels que les légumineuses ou les légumes soient visibles dans les produits que vous consommez. Donc non, nos produits ne cherchent pas à imiter la viande, que ce soit en texture, en visuel ou en goût. Ces produits que l’on appelle simili-carnés nécessitent toujours l’ajout de protéines texturées ou d’additifs tels que des arômes « goût viande » ou des texturants tels que les gommes de guar ou de xanthane. Ça vous fait envie tout ça ?!! Pas nous !

Comment conserver les produits une fois achetés ?

Les galettes et boulettes HARi&CO sont des produits surgelés ; il est important de garder ces produits à température négative à -18°C dans votre congélateur. Attention à ne pas les décongeler lors du transport et, si cela arrive, il faudra les consommer directement et non les recongeler.

Pourquoi les produits sont-ils surgelés ?

Nos produits ne contiennent ni additif, ni conservateur. Nous les surgélons pour en garantir une bonne conservation sans avoir à recourir aux traitements thermiques qui les chauffent à haute température et altèrent leur goût et leur aspect visuel.

Quelle est la composition de vos produits ?

Pour chacune de nos recettes nous utilisons une légumineuse (lentille, pois chiche, haricot flageolet, etc.) que nous associons avec des céréales (semoule, maïs, blé). Nous y rajoutons des légumes (carottes, poireaux, oignons, etc.) et des épices (cumin, herbes de Provence, etc.). Bref, que des bonnes choses 🙂 Plus d’infos par ici !

Nutrition & Cuisine

Pouvez-vous m’en dire plus sur l’étiquetage Nutriscore des produits HARi&CO ?

Le Nutriscore est un logo qui informe sur la qualité nutritionnelle du produit en version simplifiée. Il est basé sur des lettres allant de A à E en fonction du profil nutritionnel du produit. Comment est-il attribué ? Le score prend en compte pour 100 grammes de produit, la teneur en nutriments et aliments à favoriser (fibres, protéines, fruits et légumes) et la teneur en nutriments à limiter (énergie, acides gras saturés, sucres, sel). Après calcul, le score obtenu par un produit permet de lui attribuer une lettre. Tous les produits HARi&CO ont obtenu la lettre A.

Comment faut-il cuisiner vos produits ?

Nos produits sont faciles à mettre en oeuvre ! Vous pouvez les cuisiner à la poêle (8min), au four (10min) ou même à la friteuse (2-3min). Il vous suffit de les retourner à mi-cuisson et le tour est joué ! Nos gammes de galettes et boulettes sont destinées à être utilisées en coeur d’assiette ; ils peuvent remplacer viande, poisson, oeuf, etc. Vous pouvez avoir plusieurs accompagnements pour chaque recette. Par exemple, nos galettes sont délicieuses en burger et les boulettes subliment vos salades. Vous pouvez vous rendre sur notre blog pour avoir des idées recette !

Avec quoi accompagner les produits HARi&CO lors d’un repas ?

Les produits HARi&CO sont des cœurs d’assiette, c’est à dire qu’ils remplacent dans le repas la viande, le poisson ou les œufs et peuvent donc être accompagnés de la même manière. Vous pouvez par exemple les accompagner de légumes en ratatouille ou en poêlée, ou bien de féculents comme du riz ou des pâtes. Pour avoir des idées recettes vous pouvez visiter notre compte Instagram sur lequel nous partageons toutes nos idées !

Combien de protéines vos produits contiennent-ils ?

Dans nos produits, le taux de protéines va de 7,6g (recette pois chiches) à 9,5g (recette lentilles vertes), pour 100g. Le détail ci-dessous :

> Lentilles vertes : 9,5g pour 100g.
> Pois chiches : 7,6g pour 100g.
> Haricots flageolets : 8,4g pour 100g.
> Haricots rouges : 8,4g pour 100g.

Combien y-a-t-il de calories dans vos produits ?

Le nombre de calories, dans nos produits, est en moyenne de 165 kcal pour 100g. Le détail ci-dessous :

> Lentilles vertes : 164,9 kcal pour 100g.
> Pois chiches : 165,6 kcal pour 100g.
> Haricots flageolets : 166,9 kcal pour 100g.
> Haricots rouges : 158,5 kcal pour 100g.

Distribution

Êtes-vous également fournisseur de restaurants ou de restauration collective ?

Nous sommes distribués en restauration hors foyer, c’est-à-dire dans les cantines scolaires et les restaurants d’entreprises. Nous sommes aussi présents dans des chaînes de restauration comme le Ninkasi, Burger and wells et le Zinc à burger, tous à Lyon. Nous sommes aussi chez Mamie burger à Paris !

Légumineuses

Comment mieux digérer les légumineuses ?

Trois règles à suivre :

 

1. Les laisser tremper dans de l’eau froide une nuit entière, jeter l’eau de trempage et rincer plusieurs fois les légumineuses.
2. Bien cuire les légumineuses. Ne pas hésiter à ajouter un peu d’acidité pendant la cuisson, par exemple du jus de citron.
3. Enfin, pensez à mâcher longueeeemeeeent et à rajouter des épices (cumin, fenouil, gingembre…) pour les rendre plus digestes et éviter les ballonnements :).

Quelles sont les légumineuses les plus riches en protéines ?

Hors soja, les légumineuses les plus riches en protéines en ordre décroissant sont (/100g) : les lentilles (25,8g), les pois cassés (24,55g), les haricots rouges (22,5g), les pois chiches (20,5g) et les haricots flageolets (19,1g).

Quelles sont les légumineuses les plus riches en fibres ?

Hors soja, les légumineuses les plus riches en fibres en ordre décroissant sont (/100g) : les pois cassés (25,5g), les haricots flageolets (23,4g), les lentilles (17,1g), les haricots rouges (15,2g) et les pois chiches (13,3g).

Pourquoi manger des légumineuses ?

Les légumineuses ont de nombreux atouts et il est très intéressant de les intégrer à son alimentation :

 

> Elles sont naturellement riches en protéines végétales. Associées à des céréales, elles peuvent constituer un apport protéique équivalent à celui de la viande.
> Elles contiennent une grande quantité de fibres. Avoir une alimentation riche en fibres aide à la digestion et permet au corps de mieux réguler son taux de sucre sanguin.
> Elle sont riches en vitamines et minéraux. Elles regorgent de fer, de magnésium, de potassium et des vitamines B qui sont nécessaires à l’équilibre de l’organisme.
> Elles ont un index glycémique bas, ce qui permet à la digestion de se faire plus lentement et apporte un effet de satiété important.

Où trouver des protéines végétales ?

Il y a trois sources de protéines végétales :

 

> Les légumineuses : riches en fer et en fibres, elles sont naturellement riches en nutriments. Dans cette catégorie d’aliments on y trouve : les pois, les haricots, les lentilles, etc.
> Les céréales (quinoa, maïs, boulgour, riz, etc.) sont également une bonne alternative à la viande. Riches en glucides et en protéines, elles contiennent de nombreux minéraux. Il est important de savoir que l’association céréales + légumineuses permet d’avoir tous les acides aminés nécessaires.
> Les graines oléagineuses : amandes, noix, sésame, etc.

En quoi votre démarche est-elle liée au développement durable ?

Notre démarche répond à un double enjeu lié au développement durable :

 

> D’une part, développer une offre alimentaire de qualité : les légumineuses ont des atouts nutritionnels bien connus. Elles sont notamment riches en fibres et contiennent des protéines végétales de qualité. Leur association avec des céréales (c’est le cas dans nos recettes !) permet une excellente assimilation des protéines végétales. Ce sont des alliées pour un bon équilibre alimentaire.

> D’autre part développer une agriculture durable en cultivant et transformant en France des légumineuses. La culture des légumineuses est un vrai atout agricole et environnemental ! Elles sont très économes en eau et ne nécessitent pas l’ajout d’engrais azotés. En effet elles fixent l’azote présent dans l’air pour le réintroduire dans les sols. De plus, elles fertilisent les sols. Par conséquent, en introduisant les légumineuses dans une culture, on réduit la consommation globale d’azote, et donc l’émission de gaz à effet de serre.

Protéine végétale

Comment remplacer la viande ?

Plusieurs alternatives aux protéines animales existent, il suffit juste de les connaitre. (Liste non exhaustive).

 

> Les légumineuses sont une première source de protéines végétales : riches en fer, en fibres, elles sont naturellement riches en nutriments.
Dans cette catégorie d’aliments on y trouve : les pois, les haricots, les lentilles, etc.

> Les céréales (quinoa, maïs, boulgour, riz, etc.) sont également une bonne alternative à la viande. Riches en glucides et en protéines, elles contiennent de nombreux minéraux. Il est important de savoir que l’association céréales + légumineuses permet d’avoir tous les acides aminés nécessaires.

> Les graines oléagineuses : amandes, noix, sésame, etc.

 

Ensuite, le mieux est de laisser libre cours à son imagination culinaire ! Pour des idées de recettes végétales : RDV sur notre compte Instagram :).

Peut-on consommer vos produits tous les jours en remplacement de la viande ?

Nos produits sont très bons pour la santé mais à intégrer dans une alimentation équilibrée. Nous ne conseillons pas d’en manger tous les jours, tout simplement car il est important d’avoir une alimentation variée qui intègre différentes sources de protéines.

Pourquoi réduire sa consommation de viande ?

Végétaliser son alimentation a des bienfaits à la fois sur l’environnement et sur notre santé !

 

> Produire de la viande pollue : l’élevage intensif est une énorme source de gaz à effet de serre, de déforestation, gaspille beaucoup d’eau et pollue les sols. Pour avoir une rendement suffisant, l’usage des antibiotiques sur les animaux est plus que courant.
> Une sur-consommation de viande peut également avoir des conséquences négatives sur notre sante : manger trop de protéines animales n’est pas bon pour notre corps.
Excès de protéines, de lipides et d’acides gras, la viande rouge favorise le mauvais cholestérol et certaines maladies cardio-vasculaires.
Des protéines végétales existent (les légumineuses, les céréales, les oléagineux, etc.) et permettent d’avoir un apport en protéines suffisant pour ne pas avoir de carence.
> La viande coûte cher : volaille, bœuf, porc, agneau… En mettre tous les jours dans son assiette représente un budget relativement conséquent.

 

En résumé : manger trop de viande a des conséquences néfastes sur notre planète, sur les animaux et sur notre santé : essayez d’en diminuer un peu votre quantité et d’en manger de meilleure qualité :).

Qu’est-ce que le flexitarisme ?

Le flexitarisme est un régime alimentaire proche du végétarisme. Aussi appelé « végétarien souple », un flexitarien va diminuer sa consommation de viande sans être exclusivement végétarien. La viande bio est privilégiée. Plus d’infos sur ce super article !